Tags

, , , , , ,

My Green Tomatoes Are Further Signs of Hope

They are tearing out the blackberry bushes by the river just as those green articulated nubs are beginning to ripen into the black happiness they are for birds, squirrels, people. Apparently a view is being impeded by them; there is the fear their lush energy will spread & occlude bourgeois property values. I am devoted to all the rebel creatures on this planet; always have been. As I child, I once picketed to save the dandelions. Then too I had a worm hospital. & spent many hours picking blackberries, suffering their thorns to receive buckets of stains, so sweet on the tongue and in the mind. I haven’t changed much. Meanwhile, I am growing fruit on my balcony that is also still green but will be scarlet and full of juice by Fall. Small consolations for the loss of the wild.