Tags

, , , , , , ,

URN by Medea

This is the first song released by the doom project, Medea, currently a collaboration between myself & Malachi (another song, Cassandra of the Black Arts, is also on YouTube but with the earlier incarnation of Medea featuring myself and my deceased spouse, Chris Matzigkeit). Medea has been simmering solo for the 3 years since Chris’s death and is now seeing its compositions fleshed out and recorded. There is hope too of imminent performances once a drummer is finalized in the lineup. Medea, named after the tragic heroine who lost her home and family through a betrayal of allegiances, is epic doom that fuses funereal content with a more traditional occult doom sound that emphasizes resonant bass and mostly clean vocals. The lyrics are co-written with the 5th century BC Greek tragedian, Euripedes. The aim is intense, transcendent, occult grieving. Look for the Doom Poems LP in 2014.

From an interview with Doom-metal.com:

1. Who are you and how did the band get started?

My name is Catherine Owen and I’m the lead singer/bassist/composer for the epic doom band, Medea (Canada). The guitarist/midi drummer/co-composer and recording genius is Malachi. Medea started as my solo project in 2010 and is now evolving into a recording duo and hopefully also a performing trio with Tomasz on drums.

2. Why did you choose Doom, and how would you describe your style?

Doom chose me I think, both for its intense bass lines and for its often melancholic songs. Medea’s sound is influenced by trad/stoner/melodic-epic doom like St Vitus, Candlemass, Pentagram, Orchid and Hanging Garden, along with such female fronted projects as Jex Thoth, Ides of Gemini, Royal Thunder, and the new Wounded Kings lineup, combined with early My Dying Bride and other darkly lyrical or occult bands.

3. What would you consider to be the high point of your career so far?

High points at present for Medea are simply composing and recording. With my previous bands, Inhuman (blackmetal) and Helgrind (blackened-doom), I was able to play many shows from 2002-2009, including a few short tours until the death of the key creator of both bands, Chris Matzigkeit.

4. Which three bands most influenced you?

The three bands that most influenced me as a doom musician I’d say have been Black Sabbath, Danzig, and Led Zeppelin. Or maybe it’s the Doors, Rotting Christ and Dissection. Hmmmmm!

5. What are your plans for the near future?

We are working on an LP called Doom Poems of which the first two tracks are available to listen to here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQD-2zjuwMo. The first one features Chris Matzigkeit on vocals, a track recorded a few weeks before his death. And of course, I’d like to play shows again soon as it’s been 3.5 years since the last time I was on stage with a band.

6. If there is anything you would like to add, the last words are yours.

Doom is my blood. Medea is uniquely epic grief doom with heavy clean bass, a range of vocal styles from growls to alto and soprano clean melodies, and a solid backbone of versatile guitar and drums.