Today, I was asked in a questionnaire if there was anything about my book the media may be interested in. So I thought of this post again. All the different terms (allusions, references, echoes) that my copy editor found in my book. And I thought, they can dig in this archeological lexicon for their story 🙂

The Relentless Adventures of OCD Crow

I have never had the pleasure of such a list sent to me by any press copy editor until now & running my eye down this listing of words, brands, shows, bands, writers, terms & other lexical residue to be found in just one of my books of poems startled my psyche. So much life fusing in one small crowded place.

To contain multitudes is the aim, echoing Whitman. Or O’Hara’s tombstone: “Grace to be born and live as variously as possible.”

Image

Admetos

John Ashbery

Roland Barthes

BBQ

Belgian Fries

birdhouse

bladder wrack

a Blenz (Blenz Coffee)

Blunt Bros.

Eavan Boland

Betty Boop

braille

brand-new

bric-a-brac

Brillo

brome (wild grass)

Burzum (band)

caliche

Cannibal Corpse (band)

Anne Carson

caught unawares

CDs

the Chévarie

chow mein

the Cobalt

Cornish game hen

cremulator

cut-rate

Dalmatian

demitasses

Dexter

Tim Dlugos

Don Valley Parkway

door jamb

dopamine

Dr. Phil

Dude (beer)

the Dufferin

eelgrass

View original post 134 more words